You are here

The History Trust of South Australia (trading as History SA) is a statutory authority reporting to Parliament through the Minister for the Arts, via the Minister Assisting the Minister for the Arts. It was established in 1981 under the History Trust of South Australia Act 1981 to encourage the research and public presentation of South Australian history and to safeguard South Australia’s material heritage. History SA central administration is located at the Torrens Parade Ground, Victoria Drive, but its main public face is presented by three history museums – the Migration Museum, National Motor Museum and the South Australian Maritime Museum. History SA also manages an important community history program. History SA’s Board of eight trustees reports to the Minister for the Arts. Under the History Trust of South Australia Act 1981 History SA is responsible for the following: 

  • researching and interpreting South Australia’s history 
  • preserving and exhibiting South Australia’s material history 
  • managing museums of its own and assisting the State’s community museums 
  • encouraging and assisting the work of South Australia’s historical societies 
  • providing policy advice to the Minister for the Arts on issues of relevance to South Australia’s history and material culture.

Click here to view the History Trust of South Australia Act 1981.  Meet our Board of Trustees below.

Sue Crafter

Sue is the Chairperson of the Board of Trustees. 

This CV provides a summary outline of key aspects of Sue Crafter’s experience and expertise over the past 30 years that have some relevance to History SA. During this period Sue held a number of leadership positions in the fields of residential property development, social housing development and management, urban and housing policy, integrated land use planning and community services. 

Christine Elstob

Since September 2007, Christine has served as a member of the Board of Trustees of History SA, a role which has provided experience in a wide range of the organization's responsibilities. During the previous four-year period (2004-2008), Christine was a member of the Board of the Botanic Gardens and State Herbarium.

Ian Short

Ian is an independent consultant and professional writer with a background in both government and non-government sectors, gained during a varied professional career spanning 30 years. In his current consultancy work he provides business advice and undertakes professional writing for a wide range of both for- and not-for-profit enterprises. Ian is also a Board Member of Connecting Up Australia and a management committee member of Warriors SA. He enjoys reading, travel, photography, fixing old bicycles and playing guitar in a rock band.

Joost Den Hartog

Joost den Hartog is a digital marketing and audience growth specialist. He is currently the Channel Manager for Australia’s Science Channel, a subsidiary of the Royal Institution of Australia. Originally from the Netherlands, Joost moved to Australia in 2006 to take up the role of Executive Director of the Australian International Documentary Conference, Australia’s peak industry body for the factual film and television industry. Joost’s holds a Masters in Screen Arts and Business from the Australian Film, Television and Radio School.