Talking History public lecture series

You are here

Talking History in 2017

Talking History is a series of free monthly lectures hosted by the History Trust of South Australia. Each month you can hear about a different aspect of South Australia's history. We have a range of speakers from various disciplines, from history and archaeology to architecture and urban ecology.

Everybody is welcome.


Wednesday 5 April 5:30pm

Talking History Presents: Adelaide’s Jubilee International Exhibition 1887-1888

This is a special event with a panel of speakers discussing Adelaide's Jubilee Exhibition and the building behind the action.

Click here to RSVP 


Tuesday 18 April 5:30pm

Puss Campbell’s Great Adventure: World War II through the diaries and photographs of a South Australian Army Nurse

Dr Janet Scarfe

Click here to RSVP


Tuesday 16 May 6:00pm

Talking History and Museums Galleries Australia SA Presents: Saying the Unspeakable in Museums

Join us for a special Talking History session. To celebrate International Museums Day, a panel of guests from four very different Adelaide museums will share with you some of their most intriguing objects.


Tuesday 20 June 5:30pm

A New Attraction for Adelaide: the Centre of Democracy

Mandy Paul


Thursday 29 June

Talking History Presents: Violet Verses 100th Anniversary

History Trust of South Australia


Tuesday 18 July

Gallows and Governance at the Old Adelaide Gaol

Dr Steven Anderson and Rhondda Harris


Tuesday 15 August

Topic TBC

Dr Adam Paterson


Tuesday 19 September

Bill Edwards, a remarkable man; a remarkable mission

Dr Sue Anderson


Tuesday 17 October

Topic TBC

Mich Bolognese


Tuesday 21 November

Elephants and Egotists

Patricia Sumerling



Register your details below to receive monthly invitations.

To view an archive of past events please click here.


Facebook