Talking History

Talking History is a series of free monthly lectures hosted by the History Trust of South Australia. Each month you can hear about a different aspect of South Australia’s history. We have a range of speakers from various disciplines, from history and archaeology to architecture and community research. Everybody is welcome.

Subscribe to our podcast and never miss a lecture! Find us on iTunes or any major podcasting app.

Specific event details will be uploaded on our ‘What’s On’ page closer to each lecture.

Tuesday 19 March
Dr Paul Sendziuk & Robert Foster – A History of South Australia

Tuesday 16 April
Professor Catherine Speck – The letters between Hans Heysen and Nora Heysen

Tuesday 14 May
Denise George – Mary Lee: The life and times of a ‘turbulent anarchist’

Tuesday 28 May
Lainie Anderson – The epic flight that shrank the world

Tuesday 18 June
Dr Adrian Rudzinski & Victor Korobacz – Henry Krips: ‘Enemy alien’ to ‘endeared’ Australian citizen: The early career of a Viennese émigré musician

Tuesday 16 July  – No lecture this month

Tuesday 20 August
Professor Angela Woollacott – God gives you only the beginning and the end: Writing the life of Don Dunstan

Tuesday 17 September
Professor Al Thomson – Forty Years On: The Transformations of Oral History

Thursday 3 October
Dr Michael Molkentin: Anzac and Aviator 

Tuesday 15 October
Denise Schumann & Meleisa Judge: The Story of the forgotten sculptor August Saupe: 1844-1913 

Tuesday 19 November
Fidelma Breen and Stephanie James: Irish South Australia – New histories and insights

 

To listen to previous Talking History recordings visit iTunes or Soundcloud or by subscribing to Talking History on your favourite podcast app.